The Armon Neel Senior Care Pharmacist Award

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version


The Armon Neel Senior Care Pharmacist Award is given annually to the senior care pharmacy practitioner who consistently exemplifies the Senior Care Pharmacist and contributes significantly to the goals of ASCP. The Senior Care Pharmacist Award recipient exemplifies the practice of pharmaceutical care to the senior population.


The Armon Neel Senior Care Pharmacist Award recognizes individuals who apply their knowledge of geriatric pharmacotherapy on a daily basis through the practice of senior care pharmacy and thereby significantly improving the quality of life of the senior population.


2014: James R. Byars

2013: Hedva Levy
2012: Marsha Meyer, PharmD, CGP, FASCP
2011: Amy De Wein, PharmD, MHS
2010: Brian Wolstenholme
2009: Armon B. Neel, Jr.
2008: Lori Daiello
2007: James Coast
2006: Richard Marasco

Description of Award

All award recipients will be honored on October 30, 2015 at the 2015 ASCP Annual Meeting & Exhibition in Las Vegas, NV. Awardees will receive a complimentary registration to the Annual Meeting, up to $1,000 to defray meeting-related expenses, and an award.

Qualifications of the Award Nominees

  1. Nominees will have improved the quality of life of the senior population, including but not limited to the following means:

    • Daily application of principles of geriatric pharmacotherapy for seniors regardless of the practice setting
    • Development and use of expertise in a specific practice area(s);
    • Publication of research based on outcomes and/or specialized knowledge
    • Non-promotional presentations at professional associations or seminars, and/or
    • Acting as a mentor of college students and/or other colleagues
  2. Nominees will have contributed significantly to the ASCP mission and vision of senior care pharmacy practice on a local, regional, or national basis.
  3. Nominees must have been a member of ASCP for at least three (3) years.
  4. Nominees must not be current members of ASCP’s Board of Directors

Nomination Process

To apply or nominate an individual, please send the following items to by April 30, 2015:

  • Written endorsement describing the qualifications of the candidate
  • Candidate’s curriculum vitae or biographical sketch

All candidates must be nominated by ASCP members. Self-nominations are also encouraged. Each individual nomination must be supported by three separate ASCP members.

Selection Process

Each award is competitive. Selection will be made by a selection panel appointed by ASCP. Decisions of the selection panel will be final and without appeal. ASCP will notify all award nominees of the outcome of their nominations on or about October 1st.

User login


To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
Become a Member Today ASCP

Shop Our Store

Education Courses Offered