The Richard S. Berman Service Award

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

In the spirit of ASCP's President Emeritus Richard S. Berman, who personified personal devotion to the Society, the Richard S. Berman Service Award is conferred annually to an individual for outstanding service and dedication to ASCP.

History & Description

Richard S. Berman was the first president of ASCP and held the position from 1969 to 1972. He was largely responsible for founding the Society and encouraging its growth in its early years. In honor of his service to ASCP, Berman was voted President Emeritus by the Society's Board of Directors in 1974. The Richard S. Berman Service award is given annually to recognize the contributions made by a dedicated individual who fosters the goals of the Society.

All award recipients will be honored on November 3, 2016 at the 2016 ASCP Annual Meeting & Exhibition in Dallas, TX. Awardees will receive a complimentary registration to the Annual Meeting, up to $1,000 to defray meeting-related expenses, and an award.


  1. Nominees must be active members of ASCP.
  2. Nominees must not be current members of ASCP's Board of Directors.
  3. A past president of ASCP may be eligible for consideration five years after his/her presidential term ends.
  4. This honor is extended to an individual who has made significant contributions to ASCP, which includes sustained and exemplary service of at least five (5) years to ASCP.

Nomination Process - APPLY NOW!

It's simple! To apply or to nominate someone, email Frank at with their name, contact information, and 3 reasons why they’re outstanding by April 30, 2016.

Past Award Recipients

2015: Joseph Gruber

2014: Brian A. Kahan
2013: Lee Meyer
2012: Manju Beier
2011: Ross Brickley
2010: Nancy Losben
2009: Steve Feldman
2008: Robert Warnock
2007: Mark Sey
2006: Carol McKiee
2005: Dianne Tobias
2004: Arnold Clayman
2003: Maude Babington
2002: Tim Bien
2001: Judith Beizer
2000: Michael Loomis
1999: Robert Miller
1998: Armon Neel
1997: Robert N. Gale
1996: Nelson Showalter
1995: Janet M. Allen
1994: Robert Hays
1993: David Kazarian
1992: Elliott Tertes
1991: Lynn Williams
1990: Herbert Langsam *
1989: Gabe Kavadias
1988: Charles Maples
1987: Howard J. Slater
1986: Nancy Schiciano
1985: Jack Sassone *
1984: Jerry Roesener
1983: Milton Moskowitz
1982: Edward Monroe
1981: Phyllis Wilson
1980: Rolf Schrader
1979: Arnold Cammeyer

* denotes deceased


This award is competitive. Selection each year will be made by the ASCP Executive Committee. Decisions of the Executive Committee will be final and without appeal. The Executive Committee will evaluate the nominations based on the qualifications described above, determined from information submitted to ASCP. ASCP will notify all award nominees of the outcome of their nominations by October 1 of each year.

User login


To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
Become a Member Today ASCP

Shop Our Store

Education Courses Offered