ASCP elects a new president-elect and 5 new directors every year. The ASCP Bylaws provide for 14 elected members on the Board of Directors: 4 officers (president, chairman of the board, president-elect, and secretary-treasurer) and 10 directors (1 elected from each of ASCP’s 8 regions, and 2 at-large directors). All board members are elected by the ASCP membership except for the secretary-treasurer who is elected by the Board of Directors. In addition, the Executive Director/CEO serves as an ex officio, non-voting member of the Board.


The 2020 election will run from May 1, 2020 through May 31, 2020.

The election results are officially tallied by an independent, 3rd party election company. New board members begin serving at ASCP's Annual Meeting in November.

Election Slate:


At-Large Director

Director (Region C)

Director (Region D)

Director (Region E)

Director (Region G)

Voting: ASCP has contracted with Simply Voting to conduct its elections online. When voting is open, eligible voting members will receive an email from Simply Voting with instructions and your individual PIN to cast your vote.

Nominations Process


Each year ASCP seeks eligible and qualified candidates for the Society’s National Board of Directors for each of six (6) positions: president-elect, and four (4) of regional director positions and one at-large director. The president-elect transitions to president and then to chairman of the board. The Nominating Committee is appointed by the president in late summer.


As ASCP’s regional structure is evolving, we’d also like to begin including chapter presidents on the national ballot. We are seeking qualified candidates for the position of State Chapter President for select chapters. We hope this will streamline elections and give everyone an opportunity to participate in ASCP Leadership.

The following criteria are considered by the ASCP Nominating Committee in selecting candidates to stand for election:

  • Membership in ASCP for at least two years
  • Attendance at two or more ASCP meetings*
  • Productive service and involvement in the Society’s national and/or chapter leadership groups

*For national positions only

Nominations for 2019-2020 have closed. Please submit nominations to be considered for 2020-2021.

ASCP Regions

Region A - Northeast Region B – Mid Atlantic Region C – Midwest Region D – Southeast Region E – North Central Region F – South Central Region G – Southwest Region H – Northwest
Maine Pennsylvania Michigan Tennessee North Dakota Texas California Idaho
Vermont Delaware Illinois South Carolina South Dakota New Mexico Nevada Montana
New Hampshire Maryland Indiana Florida Nebraska Oklahoma Utah Oregon
Connecticut West Virginia Ohio Georgia Kansas Arkansas Colorado Washington
New York Virginia Kentucky Alabama Missouri Louisiana Arizona Wyoming
Rhode Island North Carolina Mississippi Iowa Alaska
New Jersey Washington DC Minnesota Hawaii

1240 N Pitt St, Suite 300, Alexandria, VA 22314
© 2016-2018 ASCP | Contact Us | Privacy Policy
ASCP Foundation | BCGP